The online sale online Beautiful Ones outlet online sale

The online sale online Beautiful Ones outlet online sale

The online sale online Beautiful Ones outlet online sale

Description

Product Description

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • The brilliant coming-of-age-and-into-superstardom story of one of the greatest artists of all time, in his own words—featuring never-before-seen photos, original scrapbooks and lyric sheets, and the exquisite memoir he began writing before his tragic death

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST MUSIC BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY THE NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW AND ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY THE WASHINGTON POST AND THE GUARDIAN • NOMINATED FOR THE NAACP IMAGE AWARD 

Prince was a musical genius, one of the most beloved, accomplished, and acclaimed musicians of our time. He was a startlingly original visionary with an imagination deep enough to whip up whole worlds, from the sexy, gritty funk paradise of “Uptown” to the mythical landscape of Purple Rain to the psychedelia of “Paisley Park.” But his most ambitious creative act was turning Prince Rogers Nelson, born in Minnesota, into Prince, one of the greatest pop stars of any era.

The Beautiful Ones is the story of how Prince became Prince—a first-person account of a kid absorbing the world around him and then creating a persona, an artistic vision, and a life, before the hits and fame that would come to define him. The book is told in four parts. The first is the memoir Prince was writing before his tragic death, pages that bring us into his childhood world through his own lyrical prose. The second part takes us through Prince’s early years as a musician, before his first album was released, via an evocative scrapbook of writing and photos. The third section shows us Prince’s evolution through candid images that go up to the cusp of his greatest achievement, which we see in the book’s fourth section: his original handwritten treatment for Purple Rain—the final stage in Prince’s self-creation, where he retells the autobiography of the first three parts as a heroic journey.

The book is framed by editor Dan Piepenbring’s riveting and moving introduction about his profound collaboration with Prince in his final months—a time when Prince was thinking deeply about how to reveal more of himself and his ideas to the world, while retaining the mystery and mystique he’d so carefully cultivated—and annotations that provide context to the book’s images.

This work is not just a tribute to an icon, but an original and energizing literary work in its own right, full of Prince’s ideas and vision, his voice and image—his undying gift to the world.

Review

“It doesn’t matter whether you’re a Prince fanatic or if your interest is simply piqued by all things music or pop culture: The book is worth picking up. . . . The Beautiful Ones is not a read, but an experience, an immersion inside the mind of a musical genius. You are steeped in Prince’s images, his words, his essence. . . . The way the book is structured simply makes one want to read it again, to leaf through the pages and be immersed in Prince’s world. . . . The book can be a starting point for a Prince fascination, or a continuation of long-standing admiration. Either way, it will deepen the connection of any reader with the musical icon.” USA Today (★★★★ out of four stars)

“Everything Piepenbring shares about being a fan chosen to work with one of his idols resonates. . . . [He] doesn''t just want to write this memoir with Prince, he wants to do it right. . . . This means we get a memoir that is written by Prince, literally. Handwritten pages he had shared with Piepenbring make up Part 1, taking us from his first memory—his mother’s eyes—through the early days of his career. . . . We also get a memoir that is carefully curated by Piepenbring, who writes that he was able to go through Paisley Park, room-by-room, sorting through Prince’s life. . . . The Beautiful Ones doesn''t paint a perfect picture. . . . It’s not definitive. It can’t be. It shouldn’t be and, thankfully, it doesn’t try to be. . . . It’s up to us to take what’s there and make something out of it for ourselves, creating, just as Prince wanted.” —NPR

“[ The Beautiful Ones] delivers much, much more than we had any reason to expect. . . . Prince took the project very seriously, and it shows in the work he delivered. . . . It shines an intimate and revealing light on the least-known period of his life—his childhood—which is embellished with family photos, notes and other ephemera. The book does not scrimp on detail: Prince’s handwritten manuscript, rendered in his famously precise cursive script . . . is reproduced in full. . . . The initial segment of that closing section is one of the most fascinating parts of the book: a reproduction of a photo album, with captions by a presumably young Prince, containing a couple dozen pictures from his trip to California to record his debut album, ranging from shots of him in the studio to candids of him and his friends. . . . The Beautiful Ones brings so much new information to light that it’s hard to imagine anyone being disappointed.” Variety

“[ The Beautiful Ones] is an affirmation of Prince’s Blackness and humanity. . . . The memoir is a ‘handbook for the brilliant community, wrapped in autobiography, wrapped in biography’—and thus, it’s an inspiration. . . . Prince writes about his childhood with clarity and poetic flair, effortlessly combining humorous anecdotes with deep self-reflection and musical analysis. . . . Prince is one of us—he just worked to manifest dreams that took him from the North Side of Minneapolis to the Super Bowl. [The book] encourages us to tap into our power to design the lives we envision for ourselves and set a precedent for future generations to do the same.” HuffPost

About the Author

Prince Rogers Nelson remains one of the most popular and influential musical acts of all time. Known for his style and range, Prince’s prolific music career included an ever-evolving sound that blended pop, R&B, hip-hop, jazz, and soul. Prince sold more than 100 million albums worldwide, making him one of the bestselling artists of all time. He won seven GRAMMY® Awards, a Golden Globe Award, and an Academy Award® for the film Purple Rain. He was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2004, the first year of his eligibility. Prince tragically passed away at his Paisley Park home on April 21, 2016. His legacy lives on through the timeless messages of love in his music and the countless ways his work has touched lives.

Dan Piepenbring is an advisory editor at The Paris Review and the coauthor, with Tom O’Neill, of Chaos: Charles Manson, the CIA, and the Secret History of the Sixties.

Excerpt. © Reprinted by permission. All rights reserved.

Introduction

I last spoke to Prince on Sunday, April 17, 2016, four days before he died. That night I was lying in bed when my phone shuddered and lit up with a 952 area code. He’d never called my cell before, but I knew at once it was him. I scrambled for a pen and paper and plugged my phone into the wall—my battery was almost depleted. But my charging cord was only a foot long, so I couldn’t stand up when I used the phone. I spent our final conversation hunched in the corner of my bedroom, taking notes by pressing the paper to the floor.

“Hi, Dan,” he said, “it’s Prince.” Much has been written about Prince’s speaking voice—the strange whispery fullness of it, reedy but low. Nowhere was this paradox more apparent than in that simple introduction: “Hi, Dan, it’s Prince.” He always used it. “I wanted to say that I’m alright,” he said, “despite what the press would have you believe. They have to exaggerate everything, you know.”

I had some idea. In the month since Prince had announced that “my brother Dan” was helping him work on his memoir, I’d seen it reported that I—twenty-eight years his junior, and white—was literally his brother. But the news now was of another order of magnitude. A few days earlier, Prince’s plane had made an emergency landing after departing Atlanta, where he’d just finished what would be his final performance, part of a searching, contemplative solo tour he called “Piano & A Microphone.” He’d been hospitalized in Moline, Illinois, supposedly to treat a resilient case of the flu.

Within hours of the story breaking on TMZ, Prince had tweeted from Paisley Park, in Chanhassen, Minnesota, saying that he was listening to his song “Controversy”—which begins, “I just can’t believe all the things people say.” Subtext: He was fine. Some residents of Chanhassen had seen him riding his bicycle. And the night before he called me, he’d thrown a dance party on his private soundstage, using the opportunity to show off a new purple guitar and a purple piano. “Wait a few days before you waste any prayers,” he’d told the crowd.

“I was worried, but I saw on Twitter that you were okay,” I told him. “I was sorry to hear you had the flu.”

“I had flu-like symptoms,” he said—a clarification that I’d dwell on a lot in the months to come. “And my voice was raspy.” It still sounded that way to me, as if he was recovering from a severe cold. But he didn’t want to linger on the subject. He’d called to talk about the book.

“I wanted to ask: Do you believe in cellular memory?” He was speaking of the idea that our bodies inherit our parents’ memories—that experience is hereditary. “I was thinking about it because of reading the Bible,” he explained. “The sins of the father. How is that possible without cellular memory?”

The concept resonated in his own life, too. “My father had two families. I was his second, and he wanted to do better with me than with his first son. So he was very orderly, but my mother didn’t like that. She liked spontaneity and excitement.”

Prince wanted to explain how he emerged as the synthesis of his parents. Their conflict lived within him. In their discord, he heard a strange harmony that inspired him to create. He was full of awe and insight about his mother and father, about the way he embodied their union and disunion.

“One of my life’s dilemmas has been looking at this,” he told me as I sat on my floor, scribbling away. “I like order, finality, and truth. But if I’m out at a fancy dinner party or something, and the DJ puts on something funky . . .”

“You’ll have to dance,” I said.

“Right. Like, listen to this.” He held the phone up to a studio monitor and played a few bars of something that sounded boisterous, brassy, and earthy, like a house party from many decades ago. “It’s funky, right? That’s from Judith Hill’s new album. It’s the first time I’m hearing it.”

He paused for a moment. “We need to find a word,” he said, “for what funk is.” 

The quest for that word was never far from Prince’s mind in those days. His asides to the crowds at his Piano & A Microphone shows often found him reflecting on the rudiments of funk. “The space in between the notes—that’s the good part,” he would say. “However long the space is—that’s how funky it is. Or how funky it ain’t.” Unpacking these ideas is part of what made him want to write a book in the first place.
 
Though Prince had published several photo books, and though he’d entertained the notion of something more substantial at various points in his career, the genesis of this project came in late 2014, when his manager and attorney, Phaedra Ellis-Lamkins, sought out a literary agent to represent him. Prince chose Esther Newberg, of the talent agency ICM Partners. She represented his friend Harry Belafonte, and he liked her old-school sensibility—plus, she appealed to him as a matriarch in a patriarchal industry. By early 2015, Prince had signed off on a concept, a book of lyrics with his own introduction and annotations. Newberg and her colleague Dan Kirschen shopped the idea to eager publishers, but Prince’s camp never finalized a deal, and for most of 2015 he focused on music.

In mid-November, he turned to the book with renewed enthusiasm. “He would like to fast-track a project,” Ellis-Lamkins wrote to Newberg. Working with Trevor Guy, an aide who helped with business affairs, Prince, Esther, and Dan expanded the book’s nebulous purview. What if it included not just annotated lyrics but unpublished sketches, photos, and ephemera? The word memoir wasn’t part of the conversation yet, but Prince wanted to begin work on the project right away. Trevor suggested convening a group of editors at Paisley Park to discuss it in person.

The book coincided with an inward turn in Prince’s music-making. Having traveled the world in recent years with his electrifying band 3RDEYEGIRL, he was electing to play alone now. He envisioned a tour comprising just him and his piano. The intimate, amorphous sets would span his career without the constraints and pyrotechnics of an arena show. Hosting a group of European journalists at Paisley Park, he explained that he relished the thrill of taking the stage unadorned, paring his songs down to their essential components and reinventing them on the fly. He’d been practicing into the night, playing alone for hours on end, his piano filling the vast darkness of his soundstage until he found something that he described as “transcendence.” This was what he wanted to share.

He’d booked dates across Europe when terrorists in Paris attacked the Bataclan, a concert hall he’d played three times. The violence, combined with price gouging by ticket resellers, convinced him to scuttle the tour. Why not just host the shows at Paisley Park? On his home turf, he could mount a production befitting the price.

As Prince’s vision for Piano & A Microphone found clarity, his book began to take shape, too. According to one friend, several of the people he loved and admired were falling ill, making him conscious of his own mortality. More than ever, he saw the value in telling his own story. On January 11, 2016, a few weeks before he gave his first solo performance, he invited three editors to meet with him at Paisley Park, where he’d explain his ambitions and decide which publishing house he wanted to work with. A meeting with multiple competing editors at the same time was an atypical arrangement. And then there were all the rumors they’d heard: Didn’t he bristle at questions about his past? Would he eject anyone who used profanity, or demand a contribution to his swear jar? Was it true you weren’t allowed to look him in the eye?

As soon as Prince walked into the meeting, any sense of trepidation dissolved. He was charming, engaged, even self-deprecating. (“I ramble sometimes,” he said.) For the next two hours, he presided over a freewheeling discussion of his past, his musical philosophy, and his aspirations for the book. He wanted to write a memoir, he declared—a decision he’d arrived at so recently that even Trevor, who sat in on the meeting, was surprised by it. It would be called The Beautiful Ones, after one of the most naked, aching songs in his catalog.

The story would focus on his mother, whose gaze was “the first I ever saw,” and who had never received proper credit for her role in his success. He shared an assortment of objects with the assembled editors. He’d asked his sister Tyka to send him old family photos, including many of his parents, and a family tree. He’d also tracked down the original cover art for 1999, a collage ornamented with cutouts of a phone booth, a futuristic skyline, and a nude woman with a horse’s head. And he presented the first iteration of a screenplay, Dreams, that would become Purple Rain.

Product information

Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.
UP NEXT
CANCEL
00:00
-00:00
Shop
Text Message
Email
Facebook
Twitter
WhatsApp
Pinterest
Share
More videos
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

Customers who bought this item also bought

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 54.8 out of 5
5,244 global ratings

Reviews with images

Top reviews from the United States

Upnorthchick
2.0 out of 5 starsVerified Purchase
Prince had just begun this idea. It wasn''t finished.
Reviewed in the United States on November 1, 2019
I was excited about this book. I wanted to like it. I didn''t. Not only was it not finished, but the writing had barely begun when Prince passed away. This isn''t what Prince wanted. He wanted to make an impact with his truth, transparency and creativity. The estate and the... See more
I was excited about this book. I wanted to like it. I didn''t. Not only was it not finished, but the writing had barely begun when Prince passed away. This isn''t what Prince wanted. He wanted to make an impact with his truth, transparency and creativity. The estate and the publisher wanted to make money. That''s all this book is- a contract. The writer did a good job with the limited material he had and it''s clear he cared about Prince. However, a few handwritten pages by Prince on a legal pad is not the achievement Prince was aiming for. It was the beginning of a conversation. I wept the day Prince died. I''m just a fan. Had I realized how incomplete Prince''s contributions to this work were I wouldn''t have bought it. I miss this man and his music. I could have kept my $20 and still honored his legacy as I always will- by listening to and appreciating his music.
214 people found this helpful
Helpful
Report
D. Reed
5.0 out of 5 starsVerified Purchase
Gorgeous book - Prince seeps through every page
Reviewed in the United States on October 29, 2019
The book arrived shrink-wrapped in plastic, preserving its gorgeous, high quality, textured cover and thick glossy pages. It''s packed with photos including pages of his diary and songs in his own hand. Easy to flip through or read cover-to-cover, it''s clear that... See more
The book arrived shrink-wrapped in plastic, preserving its gorgeous, high quality, textured cover and thick glossy pages. It''s packed with photos including pages of his diary and songs in his own hand.

Easy to flip through or read cover-to-cover, it''s clear that between the frank honesty, humor, and style, Prince seeps through every page. You''re gonna know and love him even more after you pour over this richly annotated, curious exploration of Prince''s life, thoughts, and images.

A unique and very artistic book, as you''d expect and hope for, given, you know... Prince.
93 people found this helpful
Helpful
Report
MrsO
5.0 out of 5 starsVerified Purchase
Compelling memoirs ...
Reviewed in the United States on October 29, 2019
It is so interesting to read Prince’s reflections on his life. The family photos are my favorite. So inspiring to look at those pictures knowing that the little boy grew up to become the globally renowned and respected musician that he was. So relatable to read about the... See more
It is so interesting to read Prince’s reflections on his life. The family photos are my favorite. So inspiring to look at those pictures knowing that the little boy grew up to become the globally renowned and respected musician that he was. So relatable to read about the love and admiration he had for his parents.
75 people found this helpful
Helpful
Report
C.C. Chapman
5.0 out of 5 starsVerified Purchase
An Inspiring, Yet Painful Read
Reviewed in the United States on October 29, 2019
This is a quick read, but you won''t quickly forget how it makes you feel. As a fan, it was amazing to see Prince''s handwritten notes, lyrics, and memories. But, also as a fan, it is painful to imagine how amazing this memoir would have been if he had lived long enough to... See more
This is a quick read, but you won''t quickly forget how it makes you feel. As a fan, it was amazing to see Prince''s handwritten notes, lyrics, and memories. But, also as a fan, it is painful to imagine how amazing this memoir would have been if he had lived long enough to complete it. The vision he had for everything was on a whole other level than us mere mortals and I wished we had been able to see the finished product. Any lover of music, creativity or Prince will love this book.
75 people found this helpful
Helpful
Report
prisrob
4.0 out of 5 starsVerified Purchase
Create Your Day, Then Create Your Life
Reviewed in the United States on October 29, 2019
Prince Rogers Nelson was one of the most creative musical geniuses. He was known far and wide. I got to know him through his film, ‘Purple Rain’, and, then, of course, all of his music. Difficult to find anyone who didn’t listen to his music. His death felt unreal, a... See more
Prince Rogers Nelson was one of the most creative musical geniuses. He was known far and wide. I got to know him through his film, ‘Purple Rain’, and, then, of course, all of his music. Difficult to find anyone who didn’t listen to his music. His death felt unreal, a calamity out of proportion, and then, to know he was addicted to drugs was a cruel blow. Too young, too much for him to do, but that’s how it is in our lives, now.

This book, started as an autobiography by Prince, he knew what he wanted to say, and let others know. "Try to create," he told one person. "I want to tell people to create. Just start by creating your day. Then create your life." This book is an attempt to do just that. But, it feels strange, we go from photos of prince to the written word, and then the second half is told through photos of his writings, photos of his life, and photos of everyone in his growing years. I read his book on a kindle, and it was difficult to read the writings on a kindle.

In the beginning of the book, we get to meet the author, and an explanation of how writer Dan Piepenbring, was chosen to finish the book on Prince. This is his first published book, and it is well done. How to finish a book that was begun by the genius, Prince. We learn of Prince’s life growing up and into adulthood, but most of the book is about the music, the writing of his music. And, then, the people Prince met and liked. He had an unusually eclectic group of people who would gather at his Paisley Park. Prince loved music and his music, his fashion, the layers, and his relationships to people. Prince was creative in his life in many ways, and this was one of his greatest achievements.

Recommended. prisrob 10-29-19
61 people found this helpful
Helpful
Report
Walker D
5.0 out of 5 starsVerified Purchase
A brilliant and haunting memoir into the mind of a musical genius...
Reviewed in the United States on October 29, 2019
I was FLOORED by the book, a weird and endlessly interesting pastiche of many different elements, all as creative and unique and dazzling as the person they are about. We have highly engrossing accounts of Prince by friends and associates, handwritten biographic... See more
I was FLOORED by the book, a weird and endlessly interesting pastiche of many different elements, all as creative and unique and dazzling as the person they are about. We have highly engrossing accounts of Prince by friends and associates, handwritten biographic information by the man himself, unseen photos from his life and career, handwritten lyrics of classic songs, even the original story of what became his seminal mid 80s classic movie (and album and single) PURPLE RAIN. It''s also a truly haunting piece of work in that as you consume the pages you slowly realize that THERE WILL NEVER BE ANYONE ELSE ON THIS EARTH LIKE PRINCE. A super HIGH FIVE also to the young writer who helped put his book together too - Mr. Dan Piepenbring. Buy this book and learn more about one of the True All Time Greats.
39 people found this helpful
Helpful
Report
TerriT.13
3.0 out of 5 starsVerified Purchase
Heart breaking
Reviewed in the United States on November 11, 2019
HUGE Prince fan..grew up & am a Minnesota girl..was in Purple Rain..but,like so much since his death..especially having seen him as a local..I was heartbroken by this book..hard to read, does not flow and doesnt really tell a story from his point of view..😥💜💔
23 people found this helpful
Helpful
Report
S Dietz
5.0 out of 5 starsVerified Purchase
Longer than it seems if you read it like a jigsaw puzzle to put together
Reviewed in the United States on October 31, 2019
This book, had he been able to finish it and allow some of the same rawness, memorabilia, and pictures, would have been massive in size...volumes... so its tempting to give the book less than five stars, but I can''t fault a memoir for an unfortunate and tragic death that... See more
This book, had he been able to finish it and allow some of the same rawness, memorabilia, and pictures, would have been massive in size...volumes... so its tempting to give the book less than five stars, but I can''t fault a memoir for an unfortunate and tragic death that curtailed its completion. Its brilliant what they were able to do in spite of his death though. Plus, had he lived he might have chucked it anyhow. A two hundred page journal discovered after he died would have probably been brilliantly raw...the fact we get 28 pages of that is still a treat.

Some have said this is a quick read, but really its not. It is surprisingly dense with tidbits and offers new insights when you re-read it. The article (with his conversations and thoughts throughout), the captions in the back, his memoir and its notes, the pictures and things he kept (his dad''s wallet with his mom''s picture in it--speaks volumes) , the original darker PR script--all make up a puzzle... When you assess all this stuff and organize it a bit by theme, its got a lot to say about Prince''s core dilemma and the way in which he filtered his personal experiences (how he attempted to use humor, imagination, self invention, and optimism to combat despair and often succeeded) .

You discover a man tormented by insecurities/an identity crisis, religious guilt, and a longing for unity due to polar-opposite parents who drug him into their drama (not intentionally but still) leaving him feeling divided and unclear of how loved he was. He is consumed with imagination and a brilliant savant-like mind and as a result, he decides to use art, music, fame and re-invention (maybe a bit too soon after the ''traumatic" divorce) as a way to create a happy harmonious life, and when he was up on that stage soaking up the audience''s love , I believe it worked.. But, it must have been exhausting to be Prince though (and this might have helped lead to his death) and I am not sure he ever found that harmony on a regular basis, but his life had wonderful moments through out. The Beautiful Ones hurt you the most and sometimes you love them but don''t trust them but there is still love, forgiveness, beauty, and humor in the little moments. And even if one is warring with oneself a lot of the time, there is still moments of harmony and joy to be had in the expression of that duality.

Do we learn about what Prince thought about his mistakes later in life or his behavior with others and some of his narcissistic defenses? .NO. (But there is a point when he alludes to his tendency to self-protect by bailing out of relationships when he figures they are heading into the pits..to guard his heart) But we are given a motivation for his need to create himself and control that creation...we get his motivation for making his art his life. (Very few artists do I find to be misunderstand and "tortured" artists to the extent I see in him.) But his warm attention to detail in terms of describing others and his love of people like Bernadette Anderson, his parents, the musicians who inspired him, and his community overall indicate a heart more caring than he might have wanted people to believe in the past.

Plus, the book has got cool pictures and is damn funny at times.
17 people found this helpful
Helpful
Report

Top reviews from other countries

Translate all reviews to English
KGBeast
3.0 out of 5 starsVerified Purchase
Keine Biographie - aber ein schöner Tribut
Reviewed in Germany on November 2, 2019
Prince arbeitete wohl - wenn man nach diesem Buch gehen kann - immer fieberhaft gleichzeitig an mehreren Projekten und einige Monate vor seinem Tod nahm er mit dem jungen Kritiker Dan Piepenbring, der hier als Herausgeber angegeben ist, Kontakt auf um mit ihm zusammen...See more
Prince arbeitete wohl - wenn man nach diesem Buch gehen kann - immer fieberhaft gleichzeitig an mehreren Projekten und einige Monate vor seinem Tod nahm er mit dem jungen Kritiker Dan Piepenbring, der hier als Herausgeber angegeben ist, Kontakt auf um mit ihm zusammen dieses Buch - oder zumindest ein Buch - zu schreiben. In einigne Treffen gab er ihm dabei handschriftliches Material und auch einige Mündliche Hinweise und verstarb dann leider. Auf Grundlage der Gespräche, des einen Manuskripts über wenige Seiten und mit Photos, Notizen und eigenen Überlegungen hat Dan Piepenbring dann zusammen mit dem Nachlassverwalter und dem Verlag das vorliegende Buch geschaffen, das mit einer mehr als 40 Seiten langen Einleitung beginnt. Wenn man bedenkt, dass der Rest aus vielen Photos, Abdrucken von handschriftlichen Zeugnissen, die zum Teil danach noch einmal in Druckform präsentiert werden und noch einmal mehr als 20 Seien Komentaren zu den Photos und Notizen, dann bleibt sehr wenig, von dem man sagen könnte, das es so wirklich von Prince intendiert gewesen ist. Entstanden ist ein Tribut an einen Ausnahmkünstler und insbesondere eine Betrachtung seiner Kindheit, Jugend und der frühen Karriere, die ssicherlich dazu beitragen kann, das Phänomen Prince ein wenig genauer zu verstehen. Gleichzeitig wirft es - wie von Prince wohl beabsichtigt - weitere Fragen auf, die nun wohl schwierig zu beantworten sein werden. Die mir vorliegende Ausgabe auf Hochglanzpapier ist sehr wertig und die Photos und handschriftlichen Zeugnisse sind, sobald man sich an Prince'' Handschrift gewöhnt hat interessant, besonders, weil sie bei einigen Songs und auch bei dem Film "Purple Rain" den Entstehungsprozess ein wenig mehr nachvollziehbar machen. Wenn man Prince wirklich verstehen möchte, so dass überhaupt möglich ist, muss man aber noch einige andere Bücher lesen, die es da draußen über ihn gibt. Und wahrscheinlich auch all die Interviews, die er mal gegeben hat. Ein schönes Buch, aber eine nicht so ergiebige Biographie.
Prince arbeitete wohl - wenn man nach diesem Buch gehen kann - immer fieberhaft gleichzeitig an mehreren Projekten und einige Monate vor seinem Tod nahm er mit dem jungen Kritiker Dan Piepenbring, der hier als Herausgeber angegeben ist, Kontakt auf um mit ihm zusammen dieses Buch - oder zumindest ein Buch - zu schreiben. In einigne Treffen gab er ihm dabei handschriftliches Material und auch einige Mündliche Hinweise und verstarb dann leider.

Auf Grundlage der Gespräche, des einen Manuskripts über wenige Seiten und mit Photos, Notizen und eigenen Überlegungen hat Dan Piepenbring dann zusammen mit dem Nachlassverwalter und dem Verlag das vorliegende Buch geschaffen, das mit einer mehr als 40 Seiten langen Einleitung beginnt. Wenn man bedenkt, dass der Rest aus vielen Photos, Abdrucken von handschriftlichen Zeugnissen, die zum Teil danach noch einmal in Druckform präsentiert werden und noch einmal mehr als 20 Seien Komentaren zu den Photos und Notizen, dann bleibt sehr wenig, von dem man sagen könnte, das es so wirklich von Prince intendiert gewesen ist.

Entstanden ist ein Tribut an einen Ausnahmkünstler und insbesondere eine Betrachtung seiner Kindheit, Jugend und der frühen Karriere, die ssicherlich dazu beitragen kann, das Phänomen Prince ein wenig genauer zu verstehen. Gleichzeitig wirft es - wie von Prince wohl beabsichtigt - weitere Fragen auf, die nun wohl schwierig zu beantworten sein werden.

Die mir vorliegende Ausgabe auf Hochglanzpapier ist sehr wertig und die Photos und handschriftlichen Zeugnisse sind, sobald man sich an Prince'' Handschrift gewöhnt hat interessant, besonders, weil sie bei einigen Songs und auch bei dem Film "Purple Rain" den Entstehungsprozess ein wenig mehr nachvollziehbar machen.

Wenn man Prince wirklich verstehen möchte, so dass überhaupt möglich ist, muss man aber noch einige andere Bücher lesen, die es da draußen über ihn gibt. Und wahrscheinlich auch all die Interviews, die er mal gegeben hat.

Ein schönes Buch, aber eine nicht so ergiebige Biographie.
17 people found this helpful
Report
Translate review to English
Thomas Oertel
4.0 out of 5 starsVerified Purchase
Für einen Prince-Fan zu empfehlen
Reviewed in Germany on December 10, 2020
Das Buch hatte ich an einem Tag durchgelesen. Ehrlich gesagt gibt es auch nicht viel, da gefühlt die Hälfte aus Bildern von Prince und seinen Texten besteht. Es gibt einen teils oberflächlichen Einblick in seine Jugend und die Entstehung seiner ersten Hits. Es ist aber auch...See more
Das Buch hatte ich an einem Tag durchgelesen. Ehrlich gesagt gibt es auch nicht viel, da gefühlt die Hälfte aus Bildern von Prince und seinen Texten besteht. Es gibt einen teils oberflächlichen Einblick in seine Jugend und die Entstehung seiner ersten Hits. Es ist aber auch ein Zeitdokument und erweckt Erinnerungen an meine ersten "Begegnungen" mit Prince und seiner Musik in den 80ern. Und das holt es für mich wieder raus und hat zur Bewertung mit vier Sternen geführt. Interessant sind auch die Beschreibungen des Autors zu den Begegnugen mit Prince sowie das Verhalten des Künstlers. Daher werde ich mir weitere Bücher dieser Art zulegen, um mehr über das Verhalten, und vielleicht auch private Leben, von Prince zu erfahren.
Das Buch hatte ich an einem Tag durchgelesen. Ehrlich gesagt gibt es auch nicht viel, da gefühlt die Hälfte aus Bildern von Prince und seinen Texten besteht. Es gibt einen teils oberflächlichen Einblick in seine Jugend und die Entstehung seiner ersten Hits. Es ist aber auch ein Zeitdokument und erweckt Erinnerungen an meine ersten "Begegnungen" mit Prince und seiner Musik in den 80ern. Und das holt es für mich wieder raus und hat zur Bewertung mit vier Sternen geführt. Interessant sind auch die Beschreibungen des Autors zu den Begegnugen mit Prince sowie das Verhalten des Künstlers. Daher werde ich mir weitere Bücher dieser Art zulegen, um mehr über das Verhalten, und vielleicht auch private Leben, von Prince zu erfahren.
Report
Translate review to English
funkyman33
5.0 out of 5 starsVerified Purchase
Essential for any fan of Prince
Reviewed in Canada on December 6, 2019
This is fantastic. No, it’s not a complete memoir. But if Prince has survived, there’s a good chance we would never have seen these pages. We certainly would never have seen the extra material - personal photos, musings, and original lyrics to some of his most famous work....See more
This is fantastic. No, it’s not a complete memoir. But if Prince has survived, there’s a good chance we would never have seen these pages. We certainly would never have seen the extra material - personal photos, musings, and original lyrics to some of his most famous work. If you’re a Prince fan, this book is a no-brainer. A fascinating glimpse into a fascinating person.
This is fantastic. No, it’s not a complete memoir. But if Prince has survived, there’s a good chance we would never have seen these pages. We certainly would never have seen the extra material - personal photos, musings, and original lyrics to some of his most famous work. If you’re a Prince fan, this book is a no-brainer. A fascinating glimpse into a fascinating person.
One person found this helpful
Report
Lily & Papyrus
5.0 out of 5 starsVerified Purchase
Worth it for the photos alone
Reviewed in Canada on December 29, 2019
For Prince fans this is a great book which shares so many little pieces of Prince’s life and his process. From the photos of his early life to the images of his song notes and inspiration this book was a bit of a revelation and reminded my why the Purple One graced my...See more
For Prince fans this is a great book which shares so many little pieces of Prince’s life and his process. From the photos of his early life to the images of his song notes and inspiration this book was a bit of a revelation and reminded my why the Purple One graced my locker in middle school. 💜
For Prince fans this is a great book which shares so many little pieces of Prince’s life and his process. From the photos of his early life to the images of his song notes and inspiration this book was a bit of a revelation and reminded my why the Purple One graced my locker in middle school.

💜
One person found this helpful
Report
Francisco Jose Lima Viana
5.0 out of 5 starsVerified Purchase
Comovente e sedutor como o biografado.
Reviewed in Brazil on December 12, 2019
Edição primorosa e repleta de manuscritos, rascunhos e fotos inéditas do maior gênio musical dos últimos tempos.
Edição primorosa e repleta de manuscritos, rascunhos e fotos inéditas do maior gênio musical dos últimos tempos.
6 people found this helpful
Report
Translate review to English
See all reviews
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

Customers who viewed this item also viewed

Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

More items to explore

The online sale online Beautiful Ones outlet online sale

The online sale online Beautiful Ones outlet online sale

The online sale online Beautiful Ones outlet online sale

The online sale online Beautiful Ones outlet online sale

The online sale online Beautiful Ones outlet online sale

The online sale online Beautiful Ones outlet online sale

The online sale online Beautiful Ones outlet online sale

The online sale online Beautiful Ones outlet online sale

The online sale online Beautiful Ones outlet online sale

The online sale online Beautiful Ones outlet online sale

The online sale online Beautiful Ones outlet online sale

The online sale online Beautiful Ones outlet online sale

The online sale online Beautiful Ones outlet online sale

The online sale online Beautiful Ones outlet online sale

The online sale online Beautiful Ones outlet online sale

The online sale online Beautiful Ones outlet online sale

The online sale online Beautiful Ones outlet online sale

The online sale online Beautiful Ones outlet online sale

The online sale online Beautiful Ones outlet online sale

The online sale online Beautiful Ones outlet online sale

The online sale online Beautiful Ones outlet online sale

The online sale online Beautiful Ones outlet online sale

The online sale online Beautiful Ones outlet online sale

The online sale online Beautiful Ones outlet online sale

The online sale online Beautiful Ones outlet online sale

The online sale online Beautiful Ones outlet online sale

The online sale online Beautiful Ones outlet online sale

The online sale online Beautiful Ones outlet online sale

The online sale online Beautiful Ones outlet online sale

The online sale online Beautiful Ones outlet online sale

The online sale online Beautiful Ones outlet online sale

The online sale online Beautiful Ones outlet online sale

The online sale online Beautiful Ones outlet online sale